A New Year And A New Direction

Compass

Compass (Photo credit: Roland Urbanek)

2013! We’re all still here! Which means I’ll have to pay my taxes. ‘Sigh’
But on the bright side, I get to read all of your fantastic blogs for another year. Thus I am blessed.

I must have been on Santa’s “naughty” list because he left me two different viruses for Christmas. I’ve been in bed for a week. I’ve hardly looked at my computer since Christmas day and was disappointed I could not share Christmas and New Year wishes with all of you in a timely fashion. May this year bring all of you and your loved ones joy, health and peace. A belated, joyful toast to all you.

The purpose of a blog will change with the shifting of priorities, passions or values in one’s life. Obviously. I suppose I am giving myself permission to change the focus of this blog which was originally about marketing, personal branding and socially conscious entrepreneurship. Two things occurred however. One was that I realized after a month or so that there are probably thousands of blogs dealing with the very same content with mine adding nothing new or unique to the mix. The other was that I found myself drawn repeatedly to writing about something else.

So “Teacher-preneur” has a lot less “preuner,” a bit more “teacher” and a lot more about loving people. Such a spiritual turn is unavoidable for me because it is the desire to grow in the ability to love that drives me and because I have seen firsthand the transformative power of love in the lives of others. I am by no means an authority on the matter. I think I fail in loving others far more than I succeed. It is because I want to fail less that the application of a disciplined, ongoing reflection is necessary. How else do we learn to improve in something than by knowing why we failed and practicing those things that lead to success?

“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.”

So on to a new year with faith, hope and love.
Now, back to bed. By tomorrow I’ll be back to my sprite, young 52 year old self again.

16 Comments ↓

16 Comments on “A New Year And A New Direction”

  1. Purnimodo January 3, 2013 at 2:11 AM #

    You is back!! My precious!

    Foil man is twirling around on my desk out of happiness! Sorry to hear you were sick. I got a little worried when things remained a bit silent on your blog. Hope you’re feeling all better know.

    Looking forward to reading your new posts.. I think it’s still preneur. I mean love is a serious business. Spiritual profits to be gained.

    Big new years hug from Holland and (again) blessed New Year to you and your loved ones!!!

    • Robert-preneur January 3, 2013 at 6:04 PM #

      Oh my dearest Purnimodo, Dutch princess of art, poetry and joyful absurdities that bring laughter to the heart, it is good to be back in contact with you and Foil man. True, love is a serious business and we get back so much more than we put in. Such is God whom we can never outgive.
      And I look forward to more of your depth of thought, passionate artistry of word and paint, and Foil man’s impetuous flurries of fabulous faculty for all things faintly fantastic. ( I really must become proficient in Spanish so that I can make silly word plays in two languages ).
      Have a joyful day my friend and a New Year’s hug back to you.

    • breisebreiseleighgoleire1969 January 11, 2013 at 1:51 PM #

      There you are!!!! Sorry to hear you were feeling poorly over the holidays. Love how you write by the way, so keep doing it!!! Happy 2013!

      • Robert-preneur January 20, 2013 at 7:32 AM #

        Hope your January is going wonderfully. We had a nice cold snap here in Southern Cal with mornings in the high 30’s. But now it’s getting warm again. Sigh. I like the cold.
        Things have been getting so busy lately I hardly have time to post. I don’t know how you do it with a blog and a novel in the works along with loving your family. You’re an awesome lady Loretto. 🙂

      • breisebreiseleighgoleire1969 January 20, 2013 at 1:56 PM #

        What a nice man!!!! If I have time to think Robert I make time to write!!! I would love to read about your teaching experiences and philosophy of education, start writing that blog post!! I can’t believe it is January 20th! Enjoy the cooler weather. I’ll check back with you soon.

  2. John January 3, 2013 at 2:55 AM #

    Hey we’re the same age. Hope you feel better soon and look forward to your writings. 🙂

    • Robert-preneur January 3, 2013 at 6:20 PM #

      So you too, John, are a child of the seventies! I’m going to see Jackson Browne in February. It’s strange to see all these artists now in their sixties and seventies. My buddy and I saw YES a few years ago. I hadn’t seen them since 1977. They were geezers! Lead singer, John Anderson, actually fell over a monitor during one of the songs and had the band laughing through the rest of the tune. But we’ve lived through interesting times, have we not? I regale my students with tales of life before microwaves, cell phones, personal computers, DVD’s and satellite TV. “In my day we had to entertain ourselves with sticks and dirt! And we liked it!” Am I becoming a grumpy old man?
      A wonderful New Year to you and your loved ones John.

      • John January 3, 2013 at 6:40 PM #

        LOL, no not grumpy. A product of a better, vanished time I say. I wouldn’t want to be a kid these days, it was tough way back when. The 70’s were awesome, the 80’s were a blast. So, how’d we end up here in 2013 so fast?

  3. kazmisahib January 3, 2013 at 9:43 AM #

    Great to read YOU Preneur
    and Yah
    Wellcome back 🙂

    Me too really sorry to hear that you are sick, but BY THE GRACE OF GOD you are here so all in the family :).

    LOVE IS GOD….. LOVE IS A FEELING WHICH MAKES HUMAN AN ANGEL…………… RUMI ONCE SAID :

    “Knock, And He’ll open the door
    Vanish, And He’ll make you shine like the sun
    Fall, And He’ll raise you to the heavens
    Become nothing, And He’ll turn you into everything.”

    I am agreed with Purnimodo and also believe that it is easy to fall in love with some one but it is hardiest thing to maintain the passion, Truth, Honesty, and other important ingredient necessary for True love.

    Powerful New year Hug for you Teacher from Pakistan. Have a great, happy and successful year.

    best

    Kazmi

    • Robert-preneur January 3, 2013 at 6:28 PM #

      Thank you so much for your wonderful wishes and wisdom Kazmi my friend. I hope all is well with you in Pakistan and that this New Year brings you joy, health and fortune. I look forward to learning more about life in Pakistan through your talented photography and journalism. Let us work hard for truth and honesty in all we do. May God bless you and your loved ones.
      Warmth and affection.
      Robert

      • kazmisahib January 3, 2013 at 9:09 PM #

        Dearest Brother,

        Thank you so much for Appreciating my work and photos.
        You words are awards for me….
        I will try my level best to make you see this culture more deep and clear.

        May GOD bless you and your love ones too always

        best regards

        Kazmi

  4. tsizzles January 4, 2013 at 12:00 PM #

    Hi Robert, I know it’s late but I nominated you for the “Blog Of The Year” award. Check it out:
    http://writersfield.wordpress.com/2013/01/04/blog-of-the-year-2012-award/

    • Robert-preneur January 4, 2013 at 9:19 PM #

      Thank you tsizzles! I’m following you and look forward to reading more of your poems to our Lord. Blog of the Year back at ya brother! God bless and have a fantastic 2013.

      • tsizzles January 5, 2013 at 12:30 AM #

        Thank you very much for that! May you also have a very prosperous and fulfilling year ahead.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A New Year And A New Direction « TALES OF STREETS IN KARACHI. - January 3, 2013

    […] A New Year And A New Direction. […]

  2. Blog of The Year | Breise! Breise! Extra! Extra! - January 11, 2013

    […] Teacher-preneur […]

Leave a Reply

Chapters


